

## MINUTES OF THE INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY COMMITTEE MEETING

October 15-16, 2004

Port of San Francisco Offices San Francisco, CA

AAPA's Information Technology (IT) Committee conducted its fall meeting on October 15-16 at the Port of San Francisco Offices in San Francisco, California. The committee is chaired by **Gustavo Espinosa**, MIS Manager at the Port of Corpus Christi. **Pam Everitt**, Director, Information Technology, South Carolina State Ports Authority, is the vice chair.

On October 15, the IT Committee met jointly with <u>Terminal Operator and Port Authority Subcommittee for EDI Standards Development</u> (TOPAS) to discuss issues around electronic data interchange (EDI). Port Authorities, terminal operators, railroads and steamship lines were all represented and viewpoints were shared with regards to how these entities are transmitting data and the problems that are being encountered in certain transaction sets and circumstances. Overall, there was a general tendency toward the use of the FTP protocol over the internet as opposed to using value-added networks (VANs) as the vehicle for transmitting data. There is also a growing desire by the carriers for more frequent data batches with the ultimate goal of real-time transactions between modes and terminals. On October 16, the IT Committee meeting opened with introductions and short updates by each member. Scott Brotemarkle, the staff liaison for the committee, began the planning process for the upcoming joint seminar with the Operations Committee slated for April 2005. Cindy Rushing of the Georgia Ports Authority was also recognized and congratulated by the committee as this year's Information Technology Award winner.

Lisa Himber then briefed the committee on the activities of the Maritime Information Service of North America (MISNA) of which her organization (Maritime Exchange of the Delaware River and Bay) is a member. This coalition of non-profit maritime information service organizations provides information and communications services in their maritime jurisdictions throughout the country, assisting users of their waterways with vessel schedule information, arrival and departure data, vessel traffic analysis and port and terminal utilization studies.

Next, the committee heard from Robby Moss, TWIC Operations Manager for TSA, with an update on the *Transportation Workers Identification Credential* (TWIC) program. With Phase II, which evaluated different technologies, completed last October, TSA is now focused on a seven month prototyping phase in order to test business processes and administrative procedures. Collecting data from the recipients, card issuance and daily operations are slated to be the focus. In working with the **Florida** Uniform Port Access Credential (**FUPAC**) as one of their pilot regions, TSA will also be able to test some policy strategies with regards to background checks and card revocation procedures since the supporting state laws are already in place under FUPAC.



Serving the Ports of Canada, the Caribbean, Latin America and the United States

As is customary at IT committee meetings, one port is highlighted and a presentation is given describing its technology infrastructure and recent projects. In this case, **Eddie Fuller** presented the Port of Houston Authority and its information technology systems.

Lastly, the Committee received a presentation by David Lloyd of Klein Systems Group. The Port of Corpus Christi recently implemented the KleinPort system to manage its vessel tracking and service billing. The system also tracks complex tug and barge operations in addition to the port's breakbulk and grain handling business.

The meeting was adjourned at Noon.

## **ROSTER OF ATTENDEES**

Gustavo Espinosa - Chairman Port of Corpus Christi Authority

Shalom Cohen Holt Oversight and Logistical Technologies

> Jim Eldridge Port of Houston Authority

> Eddie Fuller Port of Houston Authority

Lisa Himber
Maritime Exchange of the Delaware River and Bay

Alan Hoppes Port of Tacoma

Lynn Korwatch San Francisco Marine Exchange Jerrol Larrieu Port of New Orleans

Diane Manasco Port of Longview

Jeff McCarthy
San Francisco Marine Exchange

Cindy Rushing Georgia Ports Authority

Sol Satterfield Georgia Ports Authority

Scott Brotemarkle
American Association of Port Authorities