## Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

January 31, 2017

The Honorable Donald Trump President of the United States The White House 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue NW Washington, DC 20500

Dear President Trump:

We write to bring your attention to an issue that is vital to our nation's transportation infrastructure – properly maintaining America's harbors and navigation channels. The U.S. needs fully maintained navigation channels for safe and efficient freight transportation to the global marketplace.

In your budget request for Fiscal Year 2018 (FY18), we urge you to include funding and estimates for harbor maintenance programs that are consistent with the Water Resources Reform and Development Act of 2014 (WRRDA 2014) and the Water Resources Development Act of 2016 (WRDA 2016). These bipartisan laws, which passed with overwhelming majorities in the House of Representatives and the Senate, provide three specific directions on U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (USACE) harbor maintenance activities.

First, to end a long trend of USACE and Office of Management and Budget underfunding of harbor maintenance, Congress set increasing targets for appropriations from the Harbor Maintenance Trust Fund (HMTF) that reach 100 percent of annual revenues into the HMTF by FY25. WRRDA 2014's FY18 HMTF spending target is 74 percent of the projected amount of receipts into the HMTF during FY17.

Second, these Acts authorize \$50 million in additional funding for eligible donor ports and energy transfer ports to better reflect the economic contributions made by individual ports to the HMTF.

Finally, these Acts direct the USACE to include in its annual budget request two estimates: (1) an estimate of the nationwide average availability of the authorized depths and widths of all federallymaintained navigation channels that would result from each annual harbor maintenance budget request; and (2) an estimate of the average annual amount of appropriations from the HMTF that would be required to increase that availability to 95% over a three-year period. The HMTF was authorized by the Harbor Maintenance Revenue Act of 1986. Revenue for the HMTF is derived from a 0.125 percent ad valorem tax imposed upon maritime cargo imports and domestic movement through specified U.S. ports, Saint Lawrence Seaway tolls, and investment earnings. General taxpayers do not contribute revenue to the fund.

While many transportation infrastructure programs are struggling to identify beneficiary-paid revenue streams to meet their needs, maritime commerce has been paying enough to meet the operations and maintenance needs of all federally-maintained harbors for decades, but the federal government has been withholding one-third to one-half of these payments. We urge you to dedicate harbor maintenance tax revenue for its intended purpose by including in your annual budget requests funding amounts for harbor maintenance that meet the WRRDA 2014 annual targets, as well as the two estimates described above.

U.S. ports serve as a critical link to connect U.S. manufacturers, farmers, and businesses with markets around the world and are indispensable to making the exports of U.S. goods cost-competitive. The inefficiencies resulting from inadequately maintained harbors hurt U.S. economic growth. If your Administration requests harbor maintenance appropriations consistent with the WRRDA 2014 targets, we are confident that Congress will work with you to provide those amounts. No new taxes or revenues are needed to do this.

Thank you for your consideration of this request.

Bill Huizenga

Member of Congress



Member of Congress

Sincerely,

au Loventha

Alan Lowenthal Member of Congress

Gene Green Member of Congress

Michael T. McCaul

Member of Congress

Vern Buchanan Member of Congress

Al. **Bill Posey** 

Member of Congress

Fred Upton Member of Congress

Sheila Jackson-Lee

Sheila Jackson-Lee Member of Congress

Jeff Duncan Member of Congress

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress

Sean Duffy Member of Congress

Katty Cast

Kathy Castor Member of Congress

Olton

Pete Olson Member of Congress

ulberson

John Culberson Member of Congress

Turs

Marcy Kaptur 💋 Member of Congress

Ron-Lehtinen

Ileana Ros-Lehtinen Member of Congress

Barbara Lee Member of Congress

Patrick Meehan Member of Congress

Kell

Blake Farenthold Member of Congress

Kevin Brady

Member of Congress

Scott H. Peters Member of Congress

Glenn Grothman Member of Congress

Carlos Ourbelo

Member of Congress

Derek Kilmer Member of Congress

Daniel M. Donovan, Jr.

Member of Congress

Mike Kelly

Member of Congress

almson Bill Johnson

Member of Congress

serma

Debbie Wasserman Schultz Member of Congress

David P. Joyce Member of Congress

Robin L. Kelly Member of Congress

Tony Cárdenas

Member of Congress

Pan

Carol Shea-Porter Member of Congress

John Katko Member of Congress

Randy K. Weber Member of Congress

Dones Norma J. Torres

Member of Congress

unshi

Daniel Lipinski Member of Congress

Richard M. Nolan Member of Congress

Tim Walberg

Member of Congress

Todd Rokita

Member of Congress

Suzan K. DelBene Member of Congress

**Bob** Gibbs Member of Congress

Eddie Bernie Jormson

Eddie Bernice Johnson Member of Congress

Cherri Bustos

Member of Congress

Al Green Member of Congress

Kurt Schrader Member of Congress

ummendi

John Garamendi Member of Congress

**Bill Flores** Member of Congress

Im

Frederica S. Wilson Member of Congress

**Brian Higgins** 

Member of Congress

an

Louise M. Slaughter Member of Congress

SVV Julia Brownley

Member of Congress

Dave Trott

Member of Congress

Scott

Robert C. "Bobby" Scott Member of Congress

Bradley Byrne Member of Congress

rell Eric Swalwell

Member of Congress

Michael F. Doyle Member of Congress

Elise M. Stefanik Member of Congress

Ralph Abraham, M.D. Member of Congress

David Rouzer

Member of Congress

Mike Gallagher Member of Congress

Catholineilu

Bradley S. Schneider Member of Congress

Glenn 'GT' Thompson

Member of Congress

Dan Kildee

Member of Congress

Brian Babin

Member of Congress

ack Bergman

Member of Congress

ackie Walver

Jackie Walorski Member of Congress

Denny Heck Member of Congress

Earl & Buddy Carter

Earl L. 'Buddy' Carter Member of Congress

Claudia Tenney Member of Congress

John Rutherford Member of Congress

Michael & Capuno

Michael E. Capuano Member of Congress

Ted S. Yoho, DVM Member of Congress

V Z. De

Cedric L. Richmond Member of Congress

1 Earlin

A. Donald McEachin Member of Congress